Skip to main content

    The Faculty of Technical and Vocational Education (FPTV) of the Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia (UTHM), was formally known as the Faculty of Technical Education (FTE).  Our inception began in September 27th, 2000, as the Department of Technical and Vocational Education (DTVE) under the auspices of the Faculty of Engineering Technology, Kolej Universiti Teknologi Tun Hussein Onn (KUiTTHO). 

                Our renowned excellences in Teachers Training in Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TT-TVET) niche areas is traceable back  to the year 1993 when we started as one of the core departments  of the  Polytechnics Staff Training Centre (PSTC) that produced qualified polytechnics lecturers and instructors.  PSTC was upgraded and renamed as Kolej Universiti Teknologi Tun Hussein Onn (KUiTTHO) on May 1998. On May 27th. 2000, the department was restructured and renamed as the Department of Technical and Vocational Education (DTVE) under  the auspices of the Faculty of Engineering Technology, KUiTTHO. On May 1st. 2004, the department was upgraded as the Faculty of Technical Education with the dissolution of Department of Engineering Technology. The rebranding of the faculty to the present new name, is endorsed by the Ministry of Higher Education on June 23rd. 2011, to reflect our continuous and significant contributions to the rapid changes and transformation of the Technical and Vocational Education (TVET) Systems, both locally and abroad. In addition to that, at the beginning of the 2019/2020 academic year, FPTV has launch 7 new Bachelor of Technology (BTech) which are an articulation programmes for TVET graduates with Diploma Vokasional Malaysia (Malaysian Vocational Diploma/DVM) through Kolej Vokasional (KV); and those with Diploma Kemahiran Malaysia (Diploma in Skills Malaysia / DKM) and Diploma Lanjutan Kemahiran Malaysia (Advanced Diploma Skills Malaysia / DLKM) from institutions under the Department of Skills Development, Ministry of Human Resources (MOHR).

                Today, FPTV has developed to become the major provider and referral centre of high quality TT-TVET programmes, BTech programme, researches and consultancies. Since 2002, UNESCO-UNEVOC Bonn entrusted the faculty to carry the role as UNESCO -UNEVOC Associate Centre and ultimately in 2005, the faculty has become UNESCO-UNEVOC centre in Malaysia. FPTV does not stand alone in making reputation to its credentials. Collaborations and networking with regional and international organizations such as Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organization Regional Centre for Vocational and Technical Education and Training (SEAMEO VOCTECH), Korea Research Institute for Vocational Education and Training (KRIVET), Colombo Plan Staff College for Technician Education Philippines (CPSC), The National Centre for Career and Technical Education USA (NCCTE), European Centre for the Development of Vocational Training (CEDEFOP) and others have been made as initiatives to upgrade the quality and credibility of technical and vocational education for the benefit of all.

                FPTV is the professional faculty with niche in TT-TVET and BTech programmes.  The faculty offers a range of quality academically balanced and practical-oriented programmes to meet the changing needs of the teaching and training, and technology industry sectors of the economy. Our programmes of study are dynamics that leads the rapidly transformation of TVET both regional and worldwide. Our qualified and experienced academias and supporting staffs are dedicated to providing a high standard and state-of-the-art theoretical and practical knowledge in a stimulating and innovative learning atmosphere. These programmes have always been seen as the vehicle to prepare apply-skilled human capital but somehow the general perspective is that they fall short in terms of the level of skills and knowledge needed for the industry to forge ahead. Graduates who have qualified from TVET institutions previously do not have a clear career pathway to further their studies and secure jobs that are highly technical in nature.

                The faculty, consisted of five (5) departments and two (2) research centers that is led by a Dean and assisted by three (3) Deputy Deans. Organisation chart of FPTV is depicted the diagram overleaf.

  • FPTV is located at main campus in Parit Raja, Batu Pahat, Johor

    gmbr fotv


         from above 1             from above 2       

  • Surroundings by pleasant environment

    Just 15km to City Center

    surrounding1surrounding2   surrounding3